Free Our Beer header image 2

Ontario’s Beverage Alcohol System Review

July 9th, 2008 · 32 Comments

Three years ago next week, the Ontario Government received a report which itself commissioned to review the distribution and sale of alcohol in the province. This was called the Beverage Alcohol System Review, the full report available online. The lead finding from this report was “the consumer would get greater convenience and choice and would benefit from a competitive retail environment“.

On the very same day, the Finance Minister Greg Sorbara outright rejected the report with little explanation or justification. There seems to have been nothing from this ministry since that news release.

It’s time as consumers that we speak up and let the government know that our retail system, specifically for beer, is severely flawed. Let’s raise a glass to freeing our beer.

Tags: Government

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...Loading...

32 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Speak Up, You Might Just Be Heard // Feb 26, 2011 at 9:24 am

    […]  This is similar to what happened in 2005, when the Ontario Government commissioned a panel to review the alcohol system.  However, after the panel found that consumers would benefit from increased competition in the […]

  • 2 Tom Krzyzanowski // Jul 27, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    About time we stopped living like we are in the roaring 20’s. Ontario liquor laws are ridiculous. They are just one more thing that sucks the hard earned money from Ontario’s pockets. Beer should not double in price when you come to Ontario from Quebec that is just pure stupidity.

  • 3 Does Psoriasis Free for Life Really Work // Jul 20, 2013 at 5:34 am

    The attacker is then marked with the antibody so that the physique knows it is threatening and
    it can be killed.

  • 4 Garcinia Cambogia extract 1300 // Aug 1, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    Why visitors still make use of to read news papers
    when in this technological world all is available on web?

    Here is my web page :: Garcinia Cambogia extract 1300

  • 5 Get Rid of Herpes Forever // Aug 5, 2013 at 6:21 am

    It won’t be visible the next day.

  • 6 Reader Rabbit Personalized Kindergarten // Oct 17, 2013 at 5:25 pm

    Exploring delicious.com I noticed your blog bookmarked
    as: Ontario?s Beverage Alcohol System Review. I am assuming you bookmarked it yourself and wanted to
    ask if social bookmarking
    gets you a large amount of traffic? I’ve been considering
    doing some book-marking for a few of my sites but wasn’t sure if
    it would generate any positive results. Thanks.

  • 7 body by vi // Mar 29, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way,
    how could we communicate?

    Here is my weblog body by vi

  • 8 mca // Mar 29, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same
    niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a extraordinary job!

    Visit my homepage :: mca

  • 9 advocare.com // Apr 1, 2014 at 3:22 am

    It is not my first time to go to see this web site, i am browsing this web
    site dailly and obtain good information from here every day.

    Also visit my page – advocare.com

  • 10 blogging tricks // Apr 4, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    In the current time, visitors find a way to acknowledge styles
    that are very generic in nature. Remember, the content you create
    may be the vital component of its accomplishment and your website.

    Take a look at my web page blogging tricks

  • 11 usana // Apr 15, 2014 at 7:01 am

    Can I simply just say what a relief to discover someone that genuinely
    understands what they are talking about online. You certainly realize how to bring
    an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people really need to check
    this out and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you aren’t more
    popular given that you definitely possess the gift.

    Here is my web-site; usana

  • 12 advocare // Apr 15, 2014 at 10:29 am

    It’s amazing for me to have a site, which is beneficial designed for my know-how.
    thanks admin

    my web page :: advocare

  • 13 acn // Apr 16, 2014 at 11:29 am

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Very useful info particularly the last part :) I care for such information
    a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a very long
    time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Also visit my web page acn

  • 14 acn reviews // Apr 16, 2014 at 11:30 am

    This is the right webpage for anybody who wants to find out about this topic.
    You understand so much its almost hard to argue with you (not
    that I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new
    spin on a topic that’s been written about for decades. Great stuff, just wonderful!

    Feel free to visit my web page acn reviews

  • 15 brain abundance // Apr 16, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    Hi there to every one, since I am really eager of reading this website’s post
    to be updated daily. It consists of nice stuff.

    my homepage brain abundance

  • 16 amigo energy // Apr 17, 2014 at 1:57 am

    I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles
    or blog posts on this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this info So i am glad to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly excellent
    uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed.
    I so much undoubtedly will make sure to do not omit this web site
    and provides it a glance regularly.

    Feel free to surf to my web page – amigo energy

  • 17 visalus // Apr 17, 2014 at 5:23 am

    certainly like your web-site but you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome to
    tell the reality then again I will certainly come back again.

    Feel free to visit my web-site :: visalus

  • 18 speed wealth system // Apr 17, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    This paragraph is genuinely a nice one it assists new net users, who are wishing for blogging.

    Feel free to surf to my blog speed wealth system

  • 19 mary kay in touch // Apr 19, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    Hi there, for all time i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours in the break of
    day, for the reason that i love to learn more and more.

    Also visit my weblog; mary kay in touch

  • 20 rea // May 22, 2014 at 5:55 am

    Hi there, I discovered your website by the use of Google at the
    same time as searching for a similar subject, your webb site got
    here up, it appears to be like great. I’ve bookmarked it in
    mmy googlee bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply changed into aware of your blog via Google, and located that it is
    truly informative. Iaam going to be careful for brussels.

    I’ll appreciate in case you continue this inn future.
    Many other people shall be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  • 21 unique southwestern wall art and decor // Jun 8, 2014 at 12:15 am

    Some of us would like our kitchens renovated but we all know kitchen renovations
    can be expensive especially if you don’t have enough funds
    to do it. Flip the monogram over and hot glue the small piece of ribbon or yarn to create a
    hanger. Many have enjoyed the colorfulness metal art brings to their rooms and the sturdiness it can have.

  • 22 laser hair therapy at home // Jun 9, 2014 at 1:04 am

    The beginning of the end came the day Nia’s boyfriend didn’t take up
    her offer of caring for him when he was ill. If the drugs damage cell activity during the anagen phase, then hair loss is noticeable within a couple of weeks.
    She did not seem too enthusiastic about it and claimed that she had just
    been to the toilet and did not feel like peeing any more.

    Feel free to surf to my web page laser hair therapy at home

  • 23 dster.com // Jun 10, 2014 at 2:59 am

    Real estate investing offers excellent long
    term returns and sometimes even short term gains. There are
    lots of different types of investing, so you need to know
    all of these and decide which one you can do best.

    In this style, we can protect ourselves from inflation. Even if you’re strapped for cash at the outset of your
    venture, get a small, inexpensive filing cabinet at a place like
    Walmart or an office supply store for well under a hundred bucks.
    This article has been flagged as spam, if you think this is an error please
    contact us. Use your common sense, do your research, and always know who
    you are dealing with. Thus pets which don’t scratch the furniture and floors
    and are not hairy are usually fine with landlords.
    For more details on how this type of automated internet marketing system works for real
    estate investors his free report can be found at. You, however, will be seeing outside your
    own pain and beginning to live again. We also obtained the airport
    clearance for the height of the building.

    Feel free to visit my weblog :: dster.com

  • 24 social media marketing history // Jun 11, 2014 at 12:05 am

    So remember to go with a blending approach for the best results.
    Company event planning will be a complex beast that
    needs budgeting, designing and execution. Research your content and
    plan out what you’re going to say so you can present it in the best possible way.
    Hello to Liz’s readers: I’m on Facebook and you can be the
    first to hear about my upcoming Live Chat to answer all your
    social media questions. There will be no submission of any account
    information towards the agents. It is a fact that today
    entrepreneurs engaged in different types of industries are buzzing about the merits of social networking.

    The consultants of Internet marketing help its clients in increasing the web traffic over
    their internet sites. Efficiency- Unlike many traditional marketing automation methods, social media marketing provides
    an instant connection between the company and its target audience.
    Do not miss out on this opportunity by utilizing the techniques shared in this article.
    It can enable a small business produce its existence,
    interact with individuals and build a popularity that can unfold by word-of-mouth.

    my web blog: social media marketing history

  • 25 livermore plumbing showrooms // Jun 15, 2014 at 10:03 am

    It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the
    long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this put up and if I may I wish to recommend
    you few attention-grabbing things or advice.
    Perhaps you could write next articles relating to
    this article. I want to read even more issues about it!

  • 26 www.amazon.com // Jul 3, 2014 at 11:56 pm

    Heya great website! Does unning a blog similar to this take a lot of work?
    I have no knowledge of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon.
    Anyway, if you have any suggestions or tiops for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic howevewr I just wanted to ask.
    Cheers!

  • 27 hcg weight loss marietta ga // Jul 7, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    In my humble opinion, though the information he provided is
    great, I partially disagree with some things he stated in his HCG Bible, or some at least would need an improvement.
    Normally, it would be quite extreme to follow a 500 calorie diet.
    Consulting with a health expert, such as a nutritionist, is the first step
    in choosing the right diet. This nets the dual benefit of easy
    weight loss and a boost in energy levels. Please visit for more
    information and to get started. While on the HCG diet, make certain to drink a lot of drinking water.
    This review focuses on the Dominion: Alchemy expansion, which requires either the base Dominion game
    or the standalone Intrigue expansion to play. This is exactly what HCG diet plan presented by Diet Doc
    is. If you are taking h – CG injections rather
    than oral drops or pills of the hormone, then you may experience
    other side effects. There are all types of claims from people who have used HCG Diet Drops.

    Feel free to visit my web blog hcg weight loss marietta ga

  • 28 American Supreme Court // Sep 8, 2014 at 2:46 pm

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog
    posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Here is my homepage; American Supreme Court

  • 29 Jenifer // Sep 11, 2014 at 11:45 am

    This is my first time visit at here and i am genuinely
    impressed to read all at one place.

    Here is my blog triplex ultrasound scan, Jenifer,

  • 30 sarah hyland // Sep 12, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    I am not certain where you’re getting your info, however good topic.

    I needs to spend some time finding out much more or figuring out more.
    Thank you for wonderful info I used to be looking for this
    info for my mission.

    Have a look at my weblog – sarah hyland

  • 31 lose weight fast and naturally free // Sep 13, 2014 at 4:48 am

    If you wish for to grow your experience just keep visiting this web page and be updated
    with the most up-to-date news update posted here.

    my web-site :: lose weight fast and naturally free

  • 32 lose weight carbs // Sep 13, 2014 at 5:34 am

    I drop a leave a response whenever I like a article on a blog or I have something to add to the discussion. It is a result of the
    sincerness communicated in the article I browsed. And
    after this post Ontario?s Beverage Alcohol System Review.
    I was actually moved enough to drop a thought :) I actually do have a couple of questions
    for you if you do not mind. Could it be simply me or do a few of these remarks appear like they are left by brain dead people?

    :-P And, if you are writing at additional online sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post.
    Would you make a list all of your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    My weblog – lose weight carbs